Reflecting on the goals of 2021

Content 

Introduction 

Way back at the start of 2021, I made a list of 21 things I wanted to achieve in 2021. Some things were small; some were much bigger goals. I accomplished some but let others fall through the cracks. I wanted to reflect on that blog post and share my experience with each goal. I wanted to write this post as a way to show others the realistic side of goal setting – that sometimes you don’t accomplish every aim you set, and that’s okay. 

Reflecting on the goals of 2021 

I will be sharing what goals I set, along with the progress, if any, I made and if I will be introducing some of these goals into my 2022 targets. 

See family and friends 

Of course, there were some restrictions to this goal. However, I managed to see some family and friends I hadn’t seen in a while. I went on a vacation to Cornwall with my friends, arranged a hangout with my siblings and two cousins, which we had never done before, and spent Christmas with my close family. I also visited friends who moved into their own house and played Jackbox with other friends online. 

Overall, I feel like I achieved this goal. 

Body Confidence 

You know how I was on about not achieving some goals. Yep, this is that goal. I don’t want to say failed miserably, but well, you know. I did make some progress and realised what routines did not work for me. 

This year, I have started with the beginners Blogilates calendar, which is improving my confidence. In 2021, I felt like I threw myself into the deep end and started with exercise routines that made me feel bad as I couldn’t do certain moves. With the beginners Blogilates calendar, I feel like I am easing into the world of fitness. I was even laughing as I did a routine with the calendar the other day, as the instructor, Cassey, makes you feel comfortable. 

Travel 

This one had some restrictions similar to the first goal, but I travelled to Cornwall and even York in 2021. It felt good to escape the confinements of my beige flat. 

Cook more 

This goal has a giant tick! I cooked more in 2021, but I still have a lot to learn. My partner and I tried out the HelloFresh meal kit, which improved our confidence. We cancelled our subscription, as we found ourselves stuck with ingredients we did not like, so we now use the recipes and substitute certain ingredients. We are continuing our home cooking in 2022 and have put together a file of recipes we enjoy. 

New job 

This one is a massive nope! I found myself passively looking for a new job, as my current job met my needs. I am actively looking in 2022 now, as I no longer find my current job fulfilling or challenging. I am lucky to have the job I do, but I would like something different. 

Read more 

This goal got thrown out of the window quickly, but I am still trying this year. Hopefully, you will see the results from this goal on my blog soon! 

Gain 650 followers on WordPress 

While I didn’t accomplish this goal, I still feel like I made significant progress towards this goal. I started 2021 with 159 followers on WordPress and ended the year with 467 followers, so I am happy with that result. 

100 views a day on WordPress 

I think this was a bit unrealistic for me, especially with my break, but I am still happy with the views I did get in 2021. 

Gain 1,000 followers on Twitter

I smashed this goal on Twitter, thanks to the fabulous blogging community! 

I started 2021 with 263 followers and ended the year with 1,053 followers. 

Declutter my space 

While we have decluttered a lot, we still have a few boxes to dispose of properly. 

Learn to drive 

At this point, it is where the goals go downhill. I didn’t make a dent in this goal due to financial restrictions, along with timing. 

If the former improves, I will be jumping back on this goal in 2022. 

Work on my photography skills 

While I have been taking more photos, I don’t think my skills have improved. Still, it is nice to reflect back on the year through images. 

Learn more about SEO

Nope. I didn’t do this one. However, I do have an Udemy course to complete revolving around SEO; now, I have no choice but to make progress. 

Practise with Pinterest 

This goal went up and down in 2021. While I think Pinterest is great, it is time-consuming, and I applaud everyone who has mastered this platform. I, however, have not and will be slowly working on this platform to improve my skills. 

Binge Marvel content

A fun goal for 2021! Breaking the unaccomplished goals, I did achieve this one! I watched WandaVision, Loki and Falcon and the Winter Soldier, amongst other Marvel masterpieces. 

Knit a penguin 

This one still haunts me. I started, but it went downhill fast and got shoved in a box, hidden away. I will be attempting this goal again this year. That penguin will be knitted. 

Positivity jar 

I did this one as well! I got a little jar and wrote down different achievements on paper to reflect on them at the end of the year. 

I liked this activity, so that I will be doing it again this year. The only change I am making is that I will be writing my achievements on colourful paper to make the little glass jar more of a decorative item.

Saving Plan

Nope. I have savings, but not a plan, as 2021 was financially straining for me, which meant I could not save as much as I wanted. 

Strengthen relationships 

This is a continuous goal, as you always have to make an effort with friendships. I reached out to friends in 2021 for a chat or to organise a hangout, and I was proactive in this endeavour. I am hoping to continue this goal in 2022. 

Make time for hobbies 

I made time for hobbies in 2021, but it was easier as certain restrictions made us stay at home at certain points throughout the year. I even attempted a new hobby in 2021; let me know what you think of the results. They are not perfect, but I enjoyed making them. 

Handmade birthday cards 

I made a few handmade birthday cards in 2021 and posted them to friends and family when I couldn’t see them in person. 

I am still making my way through my stockpile of crafting materials, so I will be continuing this goal in 2022. 

Little reminders 

  • You don’t need to accomplish everything in January 
  • Take your time 
  • Progress is progress, no matter how small 
  • Don’t be too harsh on yourself if you don’t achieve everything 
  • Break your goals down into smaller targets 
  • Remind yourself of your goals in a way that suits you – I have a corkboard with my goals written down for 2022, for example 
  • You can never fail if you are trying your best
  • Our best looks different for everyone

Summary 

Overall, I might not have accomplished all the set goals I set in 2021, but I still made progress. Don’t hold yourself to unobtainable standards by setting unrealistic goals, either. 

Whatever goals you set, big and small, just work on making progress towards them; after all, the best thing you can do is try your best; that’s all any of us can do. 

Let me know what you accomplished in 2021, both big and small goals, as they both matter. 

10 thoughts on “Reflecting on the goals of 2021

Add yours

  1. This was a great time for reflection and I am always a big believer in if I set any goals and I don’t achieve them then it just wasn’t meant to be. We change all the time and our goals should change too 😊 but you definitely smashed 2021, here is to 2022 I hope it is a brill one! Also I really hope you knit that penguin too 😅 x

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I found this post very inspiring! Learning more about SEO is also one of my goals for 2021! As for me, I’m reading more books about it. Good luck to both of us! Finger crossed!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑